Recipe : How To Make The Best Ice Cream Sandwich

How To Make The Best Ice Cream SandwichWe All Scream!

After eating one of the best cookies my neighbor Helen introduced me to I knew what was next – I had to turn the cookies into something extra special. A homemade ice cream sandwich.

What’s even sweeter is that after thinking about the best way to form my ice cream (aside from just smashing it between two cookies), I stumbled across a common kitchen item that did the trick exceptionally well – a Mason Jar lid. Check out the recipe details below!

Foodie Tips:Dads Cookie Company

  The awesome cookies I’m referring to are Dad’s Original Scotch Oatmeal Cookies. After I ate my first bag, I knew what I had to do – order a 3 pound box! That’s how I roll.

  While I was tempted to use a flavored ice cream (butter pecan, strawberry, chocolate, etc…) your cookie will likely set the table (so to speak) for what flavor to choose. I used good ol’ fashioned vanilla as my cookie’s taste was the hero of this show.

Ingredients: 

2 Handfuls  |  Your Favorite Cookie (homemade or otherwise)
1 Carton  |  Your Favorite Ice Cream
To Dip  |  Chocolate, Melted (optional)
To Decorate  |  Sprinkles (optional)

How To Make The Best Ice Cream Sandwich
Directions: 

1. Turn your Mason Jar lid (the outer ring and removable insert) upside down. Using a spoon press ice cream into the lid; you can thicken it up a bit for an extra tasty treat. Note: I didn’t let my ice cream thaw in advance; I used it straight from the freezer and it worked just fine.

2. Once filled, push the mason jar insert out from the outer ring to remove the round-shaped ice cream. Using a blunt knife you can easily saw and pry the mason lid off from the ice cream. Presto! Place the ice cream on the bottom side of one of your cookies. Top with another cookie and place your sandwich on a plate or storage container then into the freezer. Repeat this process until you are all out of cookies or ice cream or resistance! Freeze cookies good and chilly (about 30 minutes).

3. Decorate your cookies to your liking. I dipped mine in some fresh melted chocolate. I returned my sweets to the freezer for a few minutes more then served them. They were delicious! And a perfect menu item for your next gathering.

I hope you enjoy these awesome bites!

~ Joe Paul Reider

Home Style Austin Founder and Foodie
Austin Realtor®
Keller Williams Realty, Inc.

 Love Food? In a click and a scroll you can visit more of my favorite recipes!

Howdy! Please Leave a Reply!

